

# News Release

# Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

AMES, IOWA--The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event on April 16, 2024. Members of the first place team included: Madison Cheney, Ellen Cook, and Bryson Stockman. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms Hannah Garland. The Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Chapter from Adel was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Reed Ausdemore, Ryan Entriken, Luke Krantz, and Tori Schmidt. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. McKenzie Gettler. Bryson Stockman, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 101 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 375 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from Hertz Farm Management through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Amani Elobeid, Teaching Professor at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test.

## **Top 10 Teams**

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA
- 3 North Scott FFA at Eldridge
- 4 MVAO FFA
- 5 Newton FFA, Newton
- 6 Riceville FFA, Riceville
- 7 Brokaw FFA, Clarinda
- 8 Sumner-Fredericksburg FFA
- 9 Easton Valley FFA at Preston
- 10 Lynnville-Sully FFA

# **Top 10 Individuals**

Bryson Stockman, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Brock Driskill, East Union FFA, Afton

Ryan Entriken, Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA

Dean Lambertsen, Anamosa FFA, Anamosa

August Bauer, North Scott FFA at Eldridge

Ellen Cook, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Lizabeth Hamann, MVAO FFA

Austin Storm, Newton FFA, Newton

Garrett Jansen, Lynnville-Sully FFA

Kael Hamann, MVAO FFA

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

#### Gold Teams (29)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA

North Scott FFA at Eldridge

**MVAO FFA** 

Newton FFA, Newton Riceville FFA, Riceville Brokaw FFA, Clarinda

Sumner-Fredericksburg FFA Easton Valley FFA at Preston

Lynnville-Sully FFA East Union FFA, Afton

Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas

Algona FFA, Algona Maquoketa Valley FFA Western Christian FFA, Hull Iowa River FFA, Garner

South O'Brien FFA

Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe

West Fork FFA Cascade FFA

Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Anamosa FFA, Anamosa

West Dubuque FFA, Epworth Atlantic FFA, Atlantic

Indianola FFA, Indianola Humboldt FFA, Humboldt Bison FFA, Buffalo Center Bellevue FFA, Bellevue

#### **Bronze Teams (36)**

Pekin FFA, Packwood Wapello FFA, Wapello Colo-Nesco FFA, Colo Denison FFA, Denison Carroll Area FFA, Carroll

WACO FFA

Hinton FFA Chapter

Rock Valley FFA

Newell-Fonda FFA, Newell

Danville FFA Chapter

North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

Wilton FFA, Wilton

Akron-Westfield FFA, Akron

Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis

Central Springs

## Silver Teams (36)

Belle Plaine FFA

Ridge View FFA, Holstein

Charles City FFA, Charles City

Osage FFA, Osage

Monticello FFA

Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA, Sibley Holland FFA, Orange City

Bondurant-Farrar FFA

Southwest Valley FFA, Corning Sioux Central FFA at Sioux Rapids

Postville FFA

South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City

Osceola Big Chief FFA, Osceola North Union FFA, Armstrong West Delaware FFA, Manchester

Van Buren County FFA Chapter at Keosauqua

North Mahaska FFA, New Sharon Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton

Mt. Pleasant FFA
Unity Christian FFA
Dike-New Hartford FFA
Wapsie Valley FFA, Fairbank
East Sac FFA, Lake View
Fort Madison FFA, Fort Madison

Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr

Ballard FFA, Huxley

MFL MarMac FFA, Monona Forest City FFA, Forest City

Cedar Rapids Prairie

New Hampton FFA, New Hampton Southeast Warren FFA, Liberty Center Independence FFA, Independence Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

West Lyon FFA, Inwood

Glidden-Ralston FFA, Glidden

Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood GTRA FFA at Graettinger Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes Interstate 35 FFA Linn-Mar FFA Agri-Power FFA, Eddyville St. Ansgar FFA Murray FFA, Murray Le Mars FFA Chapter, Le Mars Earlham FFA, Earlham Winterset FFA, Winterset Starmont FFA, Arlington Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn FFA Gladbrook-Reinbeck FFA AC/GC FFA George-Little Rock FFA Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Hillcrest Academy FFA, Kalona Cherokee FFA Van Meter FFA Tri-County FFA, Thornburg

###

## About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of more than 19,800 student members as part of 263 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.